

## GLOBAL JEAN MONNET / ECSA-WORLD CONFERENCE 2010

## "THE EUROPEAN UNION AFTER THE TREATY OF LISBON"

## European Commission, Directorate General Education and Culture, Jean Monnet Programme European Parliament

Brussels, 25-26 May 2010

CONFERENCE LANGUAGES: FR-DE-EN-IT-ES-NL-PT-EL-DA-FI-SV-CS-HU-PL-SL-BG-RO

## **FINAL PROGRAMME**

Tuesday, 25 May 2010 European Parliament Room P3C050 Paul-Henri Spaak building

**08:30** Registration of the participants

09:15 - 10:30 OPENING SESSION AND PRESENTATION OF THE 2010 JEAN MONNET

PRIZE

Moderator: Mr Jan Truszczyński, Director General for Education and Culture at the

**European Commission** 

Musical opening: "Ode To Joy" (Beethoven, Ninth Symphony) by Ms Nathalie Nicaud, Soprano

Keynote speeches: Mr José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission

Ms Doris Pack, Chair of the Committee on Culture and Education of the

European Parliament

10:00 – 10:30 **2010 Jean Monnet Prize** 

Presentation of Prize: Ms Androulla Vassiliou, Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism

and Youth

Jury Co-Presidents: Mr José-Maria Gil-Robles, President of the European University Council for the

Jean Monnet Programme; Jean Monnet Chair and Director of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence at the Complutense University of Madrid; former President of the European Parliament; President of the Former Members Association of the

European Parliament; President of the Jean Monnet Foundation

Mr Enrique Banús, President of the European Community Studies Association (ECSA)-World; Jean Monnet Chair, Dean of Humanities, Director of the Charlemagne Institute for European Studies and Director of the Masters in Cultural Management at the International University of Catalonia in Barcelona

SESSION 1: INSTITUTIONAL BALANCE AND INTER-INSTITUTIONAL COOPERATION

10:30 - 12:30

Chairperson: Mr Fausto De Quadros, Jean Monnet Chair and Professor of Public Law,

European Law and International Law at the Faculty of Law of the University of

Lisbon

Lead interventions:

Political perspective Mr Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President of the European Commission with

responsibility for Inter-Institutional Relations and Administration

Mr Richard Corbett, Advisor in the Cabinet of the President of the European

Council; former Member of the European Parliament and former Vice-Chair of its

Committee on Constitutional Affairs

Academic perspective Mr Jörg Monar, Director of European Political and Administrative Studies

Department at the College of Europe; Jean Monnet Chair of Contemporary

European Studies at the University of Sussex

Ms Lucia Serena Rossi, Jean Monnet Chair and Director of the

Interdepartmental Center on European Community Law at the University of

Bologna

Session editor: Mr Ferdinando Riccardi, Editorialist of Agence Europe

12:00 – 12:30 Debate

**LUNCH** 

12:30 – 14:00 Standing Lunch at the European Parliament's Members Restaurant

SESSION 2: FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS AND EU CITIZENSHIP

14:00 - 16:00

Chairperson: Ms Jacqueline Dutheil de la Rochère, Jean Monnet Chair and Director of the

Centre of the European Law at the University Paris II - Panthéon-Assas

Lead interventions:

Political perspective Mr Iñigo Méndez de Vigo, Member of the European Parliament; President of the

Administrative Council of the College of Europe; Chairman of the European Parliament Delegation to the Convention drafting the Charter of Fundamental Rights; former member of the *Praesidium* of the European Constitutional

Convention

Mr Aurel Ciobanu-Dordea, Director responsible for Fundamental Rights and Citizenship, Directorate General for Justice, Freedom and Security at the

European Commission

Academic perspective Mr Dusan Sidjanski, Special Adviser to the President of the European

Commission; Founder and Emeritus Professor at the Department of Political

Science of the University of Geneva; Honorary President of the European Cultural Centre in Geneva

Ms **Elspeth Guild**, Jean Monnet Chair of European Migration Law at the Radboud University of Nijmegen; Visiting Professor at the London School of Economics and Political Science and at the College of Europe; Teaching Fellow at King's College London; Senior Research Fellow at the Centre for European Policy Studies; Partner at Kingsley Napley solicitors

Session editor: Mr Pierre Lemoine, Executive Publisher & Editor-in-Chief of Europolitics

15:30 – 16:00 Debate

SESSION 3: THE NEW EU FRAMEWORK FOR CONFRONTING GLOBAL ECONOMIC

**CHALLENGES** 

16.00 - 18:00

Chairperson: Mr Loukas Tsoukalis, Jean Monnet Chair at the University of Athens; President

of the Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy; Special Adviser to

the President of the European Commission

Lead interventions:

Political perspective Mr Karel De Gucht, Commissioner for Trade

Mr **Enrique Barón Crespo**, Jean Monnet Chair at the Universidad de Castilla La Mancha; Former President of the European Parliament; former Spanish Minister

for Transport, Tourism and Communications

Academic perspective Mr Stefan Griller, Jean Monnet Chair and Head of the Research Institute for

European Affairs at the Vienna University for Economics and Business; President

of ECSA-Austria

Mr Tibor Palánkai, Jean Monnet Chair and Director of the European Studies and

Education Center at Corvinus University of Budapest; President of ECSA-

Hungary

Session editor: Mr Tim King, Editor of EuropeanVoice

17:30 - 18:00 Debate

**DINNER** 

19:30 Conference dinner at the Hilton Hotel (Boulevard de Waterloo)

Wednesday, 26 May 2010 European Parliament Room P3C050 Paul-Henri Spaak building

SESSION 4: THE EU AS AN INTERNATIONAL POLITICAL AND SECURITY ACTOR

09:30 - 11:30

Chairperson: Ms Anne Deighton, Jean Monnet Chair, Professor of European International

Politics and Fellow of Wolfson College at Oxford University

Lead interventions:

Political perspective Mr Robert Cooper, Director General for External and Political-Military Affairs at

the Council of the European Union

Mr Jacek Saryusz-Wolski, Member of the European Parliament and former Chair of its Foreign Affairs Committee; former Minister for European Affairs of Poland; Chairman of the Board of the College of Europe in Natolin; former Jean

Monnet Professor at the Collegium Civitas Warsaw

Academic perspective Mr Finn Laursen, Jean Monnet Chair, Canada Research Chair in European

Union Studies and Director of the EU Centre of Excellence at Dalhousie

University

Mr **Xinning Song**, Jean Monnet Chair at Renmin University in Beijing, P.R. China; Senior Research Fellow at the Comparative Regional Integration Studies

Programme of the United Nations University in Bruges

Session editor: Mr **Dennis Kefalakos**, Editor of *NewEurope* 

11:00 - 11:30 Debate

11:30 – 12:30 CLOSING SESSION

Moderator: Mr Jan Truszczyński, Director General for Education and Culture at the

**European Commission** 

Speakers: Mr Luís Miguel Poiares Maduro, Professor of European Law at the European

University Institute; Co-Director of the Academy of International Trade Law;

former Advocate General at the European Court of Justice

Mr Guido de Marco, Jean Monnet Chair at the University of Malta; former

President and former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Malta

Ms Androulla Vassiliou, Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism

and Youth

Musical closing: "Ode To Joy" (Beethoven, Ninth Symphony) by Ms **Nathalie Nicaud**, Soprano

LUNCH

12:30 – 14:00 Standing Lunch at the European Parliament's Members Restaurant